Practical Change Applauded at NAWIC Awards for Excellence


Women were recognised for exceptional talent and leadership in the property and construction industry at the 2017 NAWIC Awards for Excellence.

Hosted by the National Association of Women in Construction NSW Chapter, the awards attracted 61 entries across 11 categories, with more than 925 guests gathering on Thursday, 24 August for the 21st anniversary event.

The awards celebrated both rising women stars and recognised leaders from across the property and construction industry, as well as the companies supporting and guiding female talent.

“Each year, the awards celebrate practical and positive changes occurring across the industry, and the number of award submissions grows as our female talent pool does,” NAWIC NSW Chapter President Sarah Hogan said.

“More and more company leaders in our industry now see gender equity as a driver of productivity, innovation and enhanced financial performance."A panel of industry experts selected winners based on strict award criteria.

One of the event's major awards, the Lendlease Crystal Vision Award for Advancing the Interests of Women in the Construction Industry, was awarded to JLL Project Director, Esti Cogger.


Esti Cogger, JLL (winner) and Joel Stringer, Lendlease (Sponsor)"By conducting extensive focus groups and working closely with the JLL leadership across regions, Esti has made great inroads into the retention and promotion of women in her organisation,” Hogan said.

“The judges were impressed with the depth and breadth of Esti’s influence within JLL."Cogger's efforts resulted in 100 per cent of women returning to work after maternity leave over the last two years, a 38 per cent increase in female promotions in JLL's project development services business over the last six years and remuneration parity for senior staff.

“Esti’s achievements set a high benchmark for other organisations looking to implement organisation and cultural change,” Hogan said.

The HASSELL Award for Business Woman of the Year was presented to Juliette Economo of Downer Group.


Juliette Economo, Downer (winner) and Liz Westgarth, HASSELL (Sponsor).

“Juliette demonstrates sound business skills, alongside an enduring commitment to her colleagues and the broader community. This is evident in her work as a mentor and the projects she undertakes," Hogan said.

The awards night also featured a charity auction, with all proceeds of the auction going to the support of the International Women’s Day Scholarship in 2018.
Other categories and merit winners

PROBUILD Tradesperson Scholarship
Winner: Tamara Currey, John Holland Group
Procore Scholarship for Future Leader Award
Winner: Ali Blanch, CPB ContractorsMerit: Ruth Hoog Antik, Lendlease


Ali Blanch, CPB Contractors (winner) with Danielle Edberg, Procore (Sponsor).

CPB Contractors Award for Innovation in Design
Winner: Teenie Lee, Mirvac Design
CBRE University Scholarship
Winner: Alayna Topolovec, UTS, Bachelor of Construction Project Management
Roberts Pizzarotti for Contribution to a Project’s Development
Winner: Vicki Rushton, Hansen Yuncken, for Macquarie Rapid Build Prison
Acoustic Logic Award for Contribution to Sustainability
Winner: Jo-Anne Gamble, LendleaseMerit: Sharon Gray, John Holland Group
MPA Award for Achievement in Construction, Refurbishment and Fit Out
Winner: Amanda Hackett, Shape Group
John Holland Award for Team Innovation
Winner: International House Sydney project team, LendleaseMerit: Mirvac Design team, Brighton Lakes
Master Builders Association of NSW & Clinton Recruitment Project Manager Award
Merit: Kirsten Evans of CPB Contractors

Show Comments
advertise with us
The Urban Developer is Australia’s largest, most engaged and fastest growing community of property developers and urban development professionals. Connect your business with business and reach out to our partnerships team today.
Article originally posted at: